Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon

The greatest risk is not taking one.

 

Release Date : September 1st, 2015

Nominations : Goodreads Choice Awards Best Young Adult Fiction, Goodreads Choice Awards Best Debut Goodreads Author

 

Summary

18 year old Madeline has a disease as “famous as it is rare”. Severe Combined Immunodeficiency prevents Maddy from going outside, ever. Anyone who is lucky enough to see her must be decontaminated and have many medical background checks. And by anyone, I mean her high school tutor, nurse Carla, and her mother. But when a corrupt family moves in next door, Maddy rushes to the window in curiosity. A tall, slim, clothed in black, gymnast boy around her age catches her eye. Immediately Maddy accepts the fact this is going to be a disaster since his window is right across from hers. Could she risk even trying to make a friendship work? Worse yet with a boy?

 

I bought this book for a small relaxing vacation because that is one of the most pleasant ways to read books I think! The book then holds the memories of where you were when reading in my honest opinion. The colorful cover caught my eye like fireworks. Because I was so curious as to what was in the colorful drawings, I studied it like I spy trying to find every hidden word and picture! This book has so much about self-discovery and is uplifting. Nicola Yoon has such unique writing as well!

Rate

4/5 stars

Why I Recommend

At first I was hesitant about this book. It differed from many I’ve read. It’s rare to read a book where the girl is not only conflicted with the question “does he like me back?” but the wall that separated Maddy and the world and the hope she tried so hard to hide and not let her feel. You could imagine how close Maddy and her mother are. Sleepovers, game nights, and French night dinners. It made me wonder what would life be like if I was locked away since birth? Nether less, the journey Maddy is on through this whole book grips you and drags you with her.

I look for books that challenge my mind, and give me answers and variables to the formula we call life. I think of it as pieces to a map, the more books I read the bigger the picture gets. Sadly, this map of life seems infinitely big.

The characters are so very well put together. The boy she ends up being online friends with, Olly, is a dream! His personality and mind of things, I would love to meet a guy like him one day. He has such a protectiveness for his family and ultimately for Maddy it is so heart wrenching! As for Maddy, I loved how her nationality is portrayed as a mix of Japanese and African American! Also I love how wise and connected Maddy is with books, it is her ultimate free time. Maddy’s mother I feel is such an important character, and as you read the book especially in the ending you’ll understand why. I always wonder where the inspiration of characters come from.

All around if you’re looking for something different and a contemporary YA novel that is not sappy to read I highly recommend this book! A challenge to the heart and to not take what you have for granted.

 

To those who decided to stop here, thank you so much for joining me! I leave you with the advice to go take a risk today or tomorrow!

This is the part where I warn if you’re not into spoilers do not pass this line! Of course, if you want an even more in depth review go right ahead. To those who read this book and are so ready for the first ever discussion come on in! Grab a cuppa and a warm fuzzy blanket and lets chat!

 

So my friends. That was a roller coaster that went up up up and then shot straight down without any warning! Am I right?

First thing first, lets talk about the disease Maddy supposedly had. I can’t even imagine having it. Of course, it’s more difficult now to imagine because we’ve lived our 17 years of life. But to think of having no contact with the outside world, no friends, and to some no high school experience. Since I am homeschooled I know what that part of her life is like. Naturally, I am a homebody. But to those who naturally cannot stand being inside for long times of period, how difficult it makes it. This aspect of the book teaches me so much to be grateful for the life we have, wouldn’t you agree? Maddy wanted so much to see and feel the ocean, the sunrays beating on her skin, to maybe even experience heartbreak or adrenaline that is not life threatening. So my question to you is, what would you want to feel most, physically or emotionally, if you were locked up for your lifetime?

I think I would want to feel and breathe in fresh air. The air of the ocean or the park. To feel the wind on my face with the car windows down.

 

Next, what about what Maddy’s mother did to her? She made her believe she had this horrible disease. Kept her locked up and took life away from her. When I read the email that suggested that Maddy was never sick, this is the “throw book across the room” moment. I was such in a shock after finding this out because I did not expect it at all! It took me awhile to accept her mother was severely sick herself from the passing of her brother and dad. Forgiveness must have been a struggle within Maddy for a long while. Would you have forgiven her mother?

Naturally, forgiveness is very easy for me. I don’t know why and there’s many times where I say I don’t want to forgive, but its almost as if its a natural response. However, I would be very upset. But more so, I don’t know how I would cope with realizing all the time I’ve lost was for nothing. Time is such a precious thing.

The trip to Hawaii with Olly is again a dream. How would you love to just book two tickets to Hawaii? So spontaneous. And such a risk for Maddy! She took so many. And as Carla states, she is so brave. She takes so many risks it inspires me to take more. I agree so much that the greatest risk is not taking one. I think back to times where I’ve taken risks and the outcome of them. What would of happened if I hadn’t taken the risk at all?

Olly’s family is so realistic don’t you think? There’s a story itself within his family. Olly’s friend Zach, is also such a great character! Another story within himself, like Hazel in The Fault in Our Stars, I wish I could know what happens to Zach and Olly’s family.

 

The Quotes

I am a huge quote fanatic so I thought I’d include some of my favorites!

“Everything’s a risk. Not doing anything is a risk. It’s up to you.”
Nicola Yoon, Everything, Everything    

“Life is a gift. Don’t forget to live it.”
Nicola Yoon, Everything, Everything

“prom·ise (ˈpräməs) n. pl. – es. 1. The lie you want to keep. [2015, Whittier]”
Nicola Yoon, Everything, Everything    

“I was trying so hard to find the single pivotal moment that set my life on its path. The moment that answered the question, ‘How did I get here?’

But it’s never just one moment. It’s a series of them. And your life can branch out from each one in a thousand different ways. Maybe there’s a version of your life for all the choices you make and all the choices you don’t.”
Nicola Yoon, Everything, Everything

 

Thank you so much for joining me in this book club if you have! I know we are going to have the best of time and we’re only getting started… I guess my advice to you in this goodbye is take a risk everyday. Without them, we’d be dead. Theoretically.

 

Yasmeen xo

One thought on “Everything Everything | Words in Between The Lines

Leave a Reply

