Pride And Prejudice by Jane Austen

“Our scars make us know that our past was for real”   

 

Release Date: January 28th, 1813

Nominations:  Pride and Prejudice 2005 movie with Kiera Knightley was nominated multiple awards.

 

Summary

This book takes places in the early 1800s with fancy ribbons, handsome soldiers, all night balls, and piano fortes. Elizabeth Bennet, the second eldest of 5 sisters, is intelligent, stubborn, and gorgeous; though in no hurry to get married. Her mother is eager to marry all of her daughters with desperation if not the reputation  women is looked down upon. Mr.Bingley purchases of Netherfield and takes the pleasure in meeting Elizabeth’s closest sister Jane. The two hit off with an unusual timid love. Along with Mr. Bingley comes one of his dear friends Mr. Darcy. He comes stubborn, full of pride and his prejudices keep him from being fancied. Though as plots evolve and unravel Elizabeth swears Mr. Darcy will be the last person she ever loves, but as truth is told and prejudices and pride masks are lowered the true hearts are revealed.

 

Rate

5/5 Stars

Why I Recommend

I will admit I watched the 2005 movie with Kiera Knightly and Matthew Macfadyen first before I bought the book… But honestly what really is wrong with that? Immediately I fell in love with it. I found myself wishing so badly I could dance in the big dresses with polite men, stand next to tall Mr. Darcy and view his collection of art, and laugh and gossip about the rude men with Elizabeth and Jane. Immediately I bought the book for only $6.95 at Barnes and Noble and enjoyed every moment! I love so much the theme that is expressed about women, misjudgment, and of course love.

As I can’t really give much of a spoiler here, Mr. Darcy’s character just makes me cry! Not only is he such a handsome and interesting character but his motives through the story is again very interesting. Elizabeth and Jane I feel is me wrapped up into two people. I love the fierceness and intelligence of Elizabeth and the timid and kindness of Jane.

I absolutely love reading English literature that take place in the early 1800s of England. The writing is beautiful and when books like this are brought to life in movie theaters I find myself dreaming to go back in time.

As most of you probably know the basic story of Pride And Prejudice you’re more than welcome to discuss some topics and themes with me!! If you wish to go read the book or even read summaries of the chapters real quick so you can join us, SparkNotes is the place to go 😉

Do you read any English Literature? If so, what are some of your favorites and why??

Much love xo

 

Magic portal here to the otherside ❤

 

 

Yes, the new book is none other than Pride And Prejudice!! Lets jump right into it shall we?

 

Themes

Reputation

The theme of reputation was expressed through this entire book! I found it very fascinating how much reputation was important to these people of the 1800s. It is important to us as well now in 2016, but in the 1800s it is as if you had a terrible reputation your life would be ruined? It is of how you were raised, taught, and your wealth. If none of these things were rich you were most likely considered a not fit person. This summed up a lot about the Bennets. They were not the wealthiest people, and being a large family and taught by their mother made Mr. Bingley’s sister think lowly of them especially as women. Though it is similar to today. If someone does not wear a certain type or price of clothing, are poor and live in a run down home they will ultimately have a lower reputation.

However, reputation was not as important to men as it was to women. It was very important a woman was taught to draw, read, play piano and marry into wealth. If not, people would not respect the woman as much as they should have. Like today if a girl should do anything other than what society tells them their reputation changes. Revealing clothing, different careers and hobbies, actions that are unexpected, these are all things that women are not freely without judgment to do.

Is there some things you’ve done against society’s view of women?

 

Love

The love story between Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth is one of my favorites. Both come from different classes and face many obstacles in between to truly see the other person. Class, prejudices, Mr. Wickham, Jane and Mr. Bingley, and Lady Catherine’s control. But it is not these obstacles and victories over them that make me swoon over their relationship but it is the characters themselves.

I cannot explain enough how much I love Mr. Darcy’s character. His pride and prejudices are shameful qualities yes, but that’s really with any man. As Mr. Darcy is acquainted with Elizabeth more it is revealed her as person more. Also what Darcy does for Elizabeth with her sister Lydia and Mr. Wickham was incredibly kind and generous. He sought them out himself no matter his horrible relationship and circumstance with Wickham and saved Elizabeth’s sister along with paying for the whole wedding.

The act of him getting in the middle of Jane and Mr. Bingley I didn’t like very much at all obviously and I can’t defend him other than for his stated reason; to save a dear friend of an unfit romance.

What is your personal opinion of Mr. Darcy?

 

Quotes

“Our scars make us know that our past was for real.” – Mr. Darcy

I love this so much. It is a quote that relieves me that our scars were not how we failed to guard ourselves but we fought and made it through.

“In marrying your nephew I should not consider myself as quitting that sphere. He is a gentleman; I am a gentleman’s daughter: so far we are equal.” – Elizabeth Bennet

All I can say to this is go Elizabeth for standing up for her womanhood and feelings!

 

If you have any book suggestions please suggest them! I’d be happy to read a new book or talk about something of your choice! Also keep a lookout for the norm Friday blog post, very exciting stuff in there 😉

I hope you all have a good rest of your Spring Break if it is yours this week! I’ll see you guys next week xo

Yasmeen

One thought on “Pride And Prejudice | Words in Between The Lines

Leave a Reply

