Most of you know how much I love my music but I’ve not exactly told you why.

Strangely I was not raised in a musical family. Only my brother who recently started playing guitar has shown much interest in music. With me, I remember attempting to teach my friends how to sing when I was little. I would put their hand up to their throat and say ‘feel it vibrating? That’s singing!’ No Yasmeen, that’s your vocal chords. I joined ballet and tap when I was around 8 years old but that only lasted 1 year. You can see me in my very itchy costume on my History post 🙂 So I wasn’t much of a performer but I loved dancing around my room with my tiny music player with those chips of music? I don’t remember what they’re called but I absolutely loved it and listened to it 24/7, especially the High School Musical songs.

High School Musical is a huge part of me growing up. I remember asking my aunt if we could watch the first one and not tell my mom… Since then, its been kept a secret?! My aunt is that awesome one who drinks too much and is a pro at make-up. The secret doesn’t matter anymore but from then I became obsessed with every song, character, and dance move. Still now, do I enjoy a good marathon and can recite every word and some dance routines. When the third movie came out I went on opening day and received a free special poster for arriving early! Officially the best day ever.

 

But lets start at the beginning.

 

When I was 1 to 7 years old I had this tape of Disney sing alongs. The classic ones like Zip-a-Dee-Doo-Dah  and you would sing them with Goofy, Mickey, Minnie, Donald and all the characters. This tape. I would watch over and over again all day long! It got to the point where my Uncle absolutely despised it because I was with him all the time. If you know what I’m talking about and know where to get one please tell me!!

I remember days of riding in my dad’s truck and hearing Heaven by The Los Lonely Boys and all things Nickleback. For some reason, I loved the song Heaven so much. Now when I hear this song I immediately know all the lyrics and guitar shreds. Norah Jones was also a artist I grew up listening to. With her songs I remember walking around with my aunt and mom in cute skirts. The Fray, Mariah Carey, Gwen Stefani, Sheryl Crow, and of course Taylor Swift were all artists I would hear and now today I love being able to sing every lyric like it was mine.

One Summer when I was 9 I went to an art camp and every time Love Story came on little old Miss Carolyn would turn it up and all the girls would sing the lyrics while twirling like princesses. And lyric genius here thought Romeo take me was Romeo turkey for some reason????? As I got older these songs faded and Disney artists like The Jonas Brothers, Demi Lovato, Selena Gomez, and Miley Cyrus came into view. My best friend and I would share her ear buds at free time and lip sing Selena Gomez’s album Kiss and Tell on repeat. And let us not forget Camp Rock.

Aside from the Disney stars, there was one album that I absolutely adored. When I was 10 I went to my first concert. It was a Christian concert with Audrey Assad, Sanctus Real, and Josh Wilson. I met each of them, received autographs, and Sanctus Real’s new CD We Need Each Other. When I say I listened to this album on repeat, I mean that for real. Constantly over and over again I would have this CD on while playing Legos with my brother. I even brought it into music class as my favorite album while my best friend brought Kiss and Tell. I’m not exactly sure why I loved the songs so much.

And then 2011.

I was introduced to One Direction.

One Thing became on repeat, Niall become my heartthrob, and it was simply the One Direction phase. There was lots of Maroon 5, Taylor Swift Red era, and Ed Sheeran’s first album but nothing defines my 12 and 13 year old self more than 1D. I wasn’t the screaming hardcore fan, more so it was such fun dancing music and they were so cute and funny and British. Very British. I’ve stuck with them all the way till now, more so as an undercover fan you know what I mean. But last year…I actually went to see them. They performed at City Walk Universal and a group of girls invited me. This was an amazing night, I’ll probably do a blog post about it someday! My all time favorite song by them is Story of My Life. I am a sucker for acoustic songs like these.

Hence my 14 and 15 year old self music was all classic. It was a time where I obsessed with every song not on the hit chart of 2013/14. The ’70s and ’80s was my playlist with people like The Red Hot Chilli Peppers, Joan Jett, Cyndi Lauper, and ABBA. I also started listening to Matchbox Twenty, I still love Rob’s music nowadays. This music phase was mainly influenced but I still do love the good ol’ classics. Especially the ’80s, it is probably my favorite decade of music.

Now my music taste, like my life, is all over the place. It consists of Bach and Beethoven, to Florence + The Machine and A Fine Frenzy, to The 1975 and Panic! At The Disco, to M83 and Sales, to Tom Odell and James Bay, Troye Sivan and Coldplay, Bon Iver and Birdy. All these artists influence me everyday with motivation, inspiration, and patience for the world. Instead of linking all these artists with a song they are all on my Spotify (Yasmeen Noelle) so enjoy 🙂

But what about me as a musician? Do I play any instruments? Sing a little?

Sadly I do not know how to play any instruments but my voice. I’ve always wanted to learn piano and maybe even some ukulele! I’ve been on a couple worship teams at churches and those were always so fun. This leads me to my most favorite thing about music, is when it is live.

I find fascination and satisfaction whenever I get the chance to sit and listen to some good live entertainment. Bryan Malpass from Disney Springs is one of my favorites, his voice is angelic and is such a comforting (?) entertainer. I could sit for hours and watch and listen. I used to be a photographer for a past local band and it brought 3 of my most favorite things together. A favorite person, hobby, and live music. It was a job that I never had to work and always enjoyed helping co write a few songs. I once got to perform a song I wrote with the lead singer and it was exhilarating to say the least. Perhaps one day I’ll get brave enough to sing for people and write again.

I used to write songs but they were out of sadness and depression. I made the mistake of sharing them with the wrong person and long story short, I was made guilty for writing such things. Since then I’ve never looked at the songs again or opened my song writing journal. I sometimes think I should rip and throw away those songs but no. Those songs were my expressions, my therapy. It made me somewhat happy to write those songs and to get my sad thoughts out of me. Don’t let anyone make you feel guilty for feeling depressed or writing dark things. Those are yours. Your feelings and your ways to express.

 

I hope for those of you who have had a Spring Break this week is having a good one! Happy Spring as well! I’m so happy the cold is moving away now.

As always, my question to you is what songs remind you of your childhood? Did I name any you grew up with?

Tunes I’ve been jamming out to this week :

 

Find You – Zedd ft. Matthew Koma and Miriam Bryant

Jamz – Sales

Drive – Oh Wonder

 

Quick reminder about my new book club, a new book has posted and its one I think everyone is familiar with go ahead and check it out here 😉 If you guys have any suggestions to topics or things you would like me to write about feel free to comment ❤ I’ll see you guys next week!!

 

Yasmeen xo

7 thoughts on “My Music Evolution

  1. Oh my god! All throughout that post I was just thinking to myself “is this me???? when did i write this????”

    Everything you said, I’ve experienced almost the exact same things. From the Disney moments (HSM, Selena, etc) down to the One Direction phase, as well as the indie artists and the “singing” thing. I can’t believe how much in common we have. This is crazy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

