The sea was a dark blue

With tips like whip cream with peach swirls

The horizon a line so straight

A ruler itself drew it

Yet the earth is round

Beyond is distant fluffy mountains

or clouds

Enlightened by blue rays of the sun

So many birds in one fraction of the sky

Do they not have any other desire place

to be but this small town beach?

Feathers, shells, and clothing

scattered like loose change

Goosebumps arise on my skin from the wind

from my arms to my ankles

but I do not want to cover up

For its been too long since fresh air beat

against my skin

The sand feels like silk

in between my rough toes yet it is made

of a billion rocks

The waves are the sound of my mind

Constantly rolling and crashing

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

 

There are places I’ve grown up

Places I stood and played when I was only 2

I would think about what kind of sand cookies

I wanted to make next

Now I sit on this same beach at night

With a troubled heart and burnt fingers

Thinking about what I’m going to do next

Where I should go next

 

The wind is a perfect brisk

Just the right amount to cool the

boiling skin but not enough

where the umbrella would fly away

Distant family member companies

Jimmy Buffet lyrics

and long coming volleyball games

my scalp itches but I smell of the salty beach

 

Hello everyone, this is my attempt to write sentences shorter and more descriptive. AKA poetry. Is this how you write poetry? I don’t know. I felt like writing what I was feeling at these 3 separate beach evenings/day. What do you think? Hope you all are having a great Summer!

Yasmeen XO

Leave a Reply

