Love is irrational, I reminded myself. The more you love someone, the less sense anything made.

New Moon by Stephanie Meyer

Published: September 6th, 2006

Genre: YA Fantasy Romance

 

Summary

The heart wrenching story of what it feels like to lose your teenage lover follows Bella Swan as she suffers through the heartbreak and recovery of Edward’s leaving. Self discovery, recovery, unstoppable love, and friendship portrays as Bella and her best friend Jacob Black find each other both in unrequited terms.

 

Why I Recommend

 

A quick little note here before I get into this, yes this is the twilight series, and if you absolutely need an explanation as to why I’m reading such a ridiculous story, the explanation is simply we all have opinions and a book isn’t known worldwide for nothing *thumbs up*

 

Now if you’re like me and watched all the movies first and then thought well I’ll just give it a try… read New Moon. I feel like so far (even though I am only 2 books in ha) it was the best ever. Honestly it touched me so much and maybe this is because I could relate to Bella with her pain that made it feel so personal but the conflict between Jacob and Bella and her dad is very interesting to read. Also I’d like to say even though I’ve watched the movies repeatedly the book still held me on the edge of my seat… especially the ending, oh my..

 

I honestly couldn’t put the book down either. I just wanted to see what happened next after every page! I was actually in a restaurant reading a couple chapters as we were waiting for food. Not to mention ladies it picks up some great hotel employee conversation when they see you reading good ol’ Twilight… This definitely had climbed up the ladder to some of my favorite books… maybe I’ll do a blog post about my top 5? Hmmm Let me know in the comments!

 

Rate

I feel like I give every book I review a 5/5 but its true… 5/5 stars!

 

DISCUSSION (For anyone who’s read the book and/or watched the movie)

 

I said it before and I will say it again… I just love Charlie’s character! I don’t know why but I find him and his responses to Bella so amusing and funny. Anyone else?

 

I think love and hurt on a scale are almost about the same. Reading so much into Bella’s pain and being able to relate to it was so intimate and had me clutching my heart the entire time. There was a lot of “I don’t want to go back to this pain, why am I reading it?” and “this is so relieving to be able to relate with pain.” More so it was relieving. I can’t particularly say why though…

I don’t know about any of you guys but my heart just screams Edward. I love him so much even though I hated him for leaving and lying to Bella. Robert Pattinson however is such a beautiful human being and he is so clearly pictured when reading the Twilight Saga, I applaud the casting director for this again. Which btw, today is apparently Edward Cullen’s birthday… this was not planned.

 

 

There was one part I was reading at the restaurant that I actually bookmarked with a coaster napkin so I could come back to it and it’s on page 375…

“Would it be so wrong to try to make Jacob happy? Even if the love I felt for him was no more than a weak echo of what I was capable of, even if my heart was far away, wondering and grieving after my fickle Romeo, would it be so very wrong?”

Here’s where you #teamjacob come in… Do you think Bella could have loved Jacob? Why?

I personally think not and it would be unfair. I think Bella was desperate for the love of Edward her emotions of love turned into the desire of love, and since Jacob was her best friend, he was like a rebound. I think she did love Jacob, however it is not the same love she has for Edward. Even IF she did try to love Jacob in that way her heart would never be fully allied to him. It would very much only be half or even a tiny percent. It wouldn’t be fair to Jacob if she only loved him with that much.

I particularly love this excerpt because of how it was worded.

 

Also I really would like to just bring up what Edward says to Bella on page 514…

Before you, Bella, my life was like a moonless night. Very dark, but there were stars – points of light and reason. And then you shot across my sky like a meteor. Suddenly everything was on fire; there was brilliancy, there was beauty. When you were gone, when the meteor had fallen over the horizon, everything went black. Nothing had changed, but my eyes were blinded by the light.. I couldn’t see the stars anymore. And there was no more reason for anything.”

How much freaking romantic caN YOU GET??

Opinions? Thoughts? Book recommendations?

4 thoughts on “New Moon by Stephanie Meyer | Words in Between the Lines

  1. I really like that you don’t care and review a book that has been around for awhile! I will proudly state this set is on my shelf and have been read multiple times!
    I agree regarding Jacob. It was a half love. He made her feel safe and when you are that broken sometimes we think that is all that matters.
    #teamedward even though he left. He had some amazing lines! I am glad you read the books after watching the movies because I am a total snob and always like the book better haha!

    Like

    1. I will definitely be rereading this series multiple times! People always say “wow you’re brave for reading the books after you’ve watched the movies, now you’ll hate them!” But really I enjoy both. With book-movie adaptions I always go see them in a mind set that they are two different things. Some things are meant to just be written, while others can just be enjoyable for the eyes.

      Like

Leave a Reply

