If there is one thing I love about the beauty gurus on YouTube it is the monthly favorites… Helloooo Zoella! As much as I love make-up, I enjoy the other miscellaneous favorites so much more i.g the books, music, tv series, ect. So I think it’s about time I start my monthly favorites with everything from fashion to make-up to songs to books. I hope this is just as enjoyable in written form…

Disclaimer: I am not in any way advertising or sponsoring these products or brands, I simply enjoy them and would like to help a gal out 😉

 

Make-Up

Starting first with make-up, I have been on the go constantly this month with moving from one place to another and the thing I dread most is bringing along so. much. makeup. So I’ve really eliminated all unnecessary things that were not essentials. Here are all the things that have made this beauty life so much easier.

 

  • Ipsy

For any of you unfamiliar with Ipsy, it is a beauty subscription package you get delivered to your door every month for only $10! You go to ipsy.com and answer questions about yourself so they can send travel size samples of everything beauty according to YOUR taste! Not only do I enjoy new make-up samples every month, but this is a favorite because they are sample size. It makes it so much easier to pack and bring along with you. Which Ipsy also packs all these samples in a cute make-up bag for you! So new bag and make-up? Yes please. My favorites personally are the facials and perfumes.

Should I start doing What’s in My Ipsy Bag blog post every month???

Price: $

 

  • the Balm Meet Matt(e) Hughes Long Lasting Liquid Lipstick in Charming

the Balm is not a very popular brand however their liquid lipsticks should be known worldwide honestly! I received this muted rose color and another in a bright red from a dear friend for Christmas and I have been in love with it ever since! Long lasting, amazing pigmentation and very easy to apply. If you’re not familiar with any lipsticks it will take a little practice, but it becomes very easy and in my opinion liquid lipsticks are so much easier to apply than regular.

It first applies very creamy and as it turns matte it doesn’t dry out the lips at all! Which is a very huge thing for this being matte. Plus it smells of sweet peppermint…

Buy + View

Price: $$

 

  • Make Up For Ever Step 1 Skin Equalizer

The title is confusing but this is basically a REALLY GREAT smelling hydrating primer. I received this in my Ipsy bag 2 months ago I think? And it helps even out my skin, hydrates and keeps my make up lasting, well, forever! I’m beginning to really like Make Up For Ever because one of my all time favorite lipsticks is from them, so I highly recommend this.

Buy + View

Price: $$$

 

Fashion

So recently I’ve been obsessed with chokers. Yes, bringing it back to the 90s babay. Specifically this maroon red string. I simply tie it around my neck in a bow and I love it. Don’t know why or how, but I do. And then it broke. I have no idea what material it is, so if someone could please tell me that would be great!

IMG_20160701_115902

 

TV Series

  • New Girl

Jess (Zooey Deschanel), a mid 20s, teacher moves in with 3 idiot guys (Jake Johnson, Max Greenfield, Lamorne Morris)  and they have the most fun and crazy times ever. Jess is such a optimistic silly ridiculous character, much like myself I think, and as she goes through not normal but oh so real adulthood it leaves you laughing every single episode. Plus guest stars like Taylor Swift, Prince, Adam Brody (Dave form Gilmore Girls) makes it all so much better. It’s on Netflix for anyone who wants to give it a try, and anyone who is already watching it, extra points to you!

 

  • Gilmore Girls

Because I am re-watching every season till the new season airs!!! so. excited. cant. contain.

If you’ve never seen Gilmore Girls, you need it your life. I think it’s very important for any future boyfriend to watch this because he just won’t understand me if not. Also on Netflix 😉

 

Books

  • The Twilight Saga

Yes I am reading the Twilight Saga for the first time this month and it is so amazing guys. I hate to admit it, but I do love the fantasy of vampires. From Edward Cullen to Damon Salvatore… *clutches heart*

Back in January I watched all the Twilights for the first time and loved it. The first movie I find such a comforting movie; I have no idea why. Also, no I do not hate the movies and no I do not hate the books. I love both. Whenever I explore a book-movie adaption whether its book to movie or movie to book, I always have my mindset that they are two different things because simply some things are meant to just be written and not be on the screen and vice versa.

My favorite Twilight book is New Moon… I cried and cried while reading it in 2 sittings. That is a record for me guys considering it is about 600 pages. I included New Moon in my book club so if you would like a more thorough recommendation head on over here.

 

  • Bella Grace Magazine

Bella Grace, a lot like Rookie, is a creativity book with advice, writings, playlists, writing prompts and pictures. I especially loved last issue of Bella Grace because of this page and quote by John Appleseed.

IMG_20160609_152437

  • Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen

For a full review of this book head over here ❤

I was very skeptical to read anything from Sarah Dessen but thanks to readbyzoe it convinced me to give it a try… thank you so much Zoe! xo

This book is such a cozy read… with humor, friendship, self improvement, a little bit of a love story and all around a very touching story. Highly recommend!

 

Movies

THERE ARE SO MANY MOVIES I WANTED TO SEE THIS MONTH IN JUNE BUT HAVEN’T BECAUSE IM BROKE AND DON’T HAVE FRIENDS. WILL GIVE YOU UPDATES ON ME BEFORE YOU, FINDING DORY, NOW YOU SEE ME 2 AND ALICE AND THROUGH THE LOOKING GLASS LATER.

tumblr_n1zbfm3EqI1rkf7eko1_400

 

However… there are 2 on Netflix I recently watched and feel I must share them.

  • One Day

On July 15, 1988 — the day of their college graduation — two people from opposite sides of the tracks begin a lifelong friendship. Emma (Anne Hathaway), an idealist from a working-class family, wants to make the world a better place. Dexter (Jim Sturgess), a playboy, thinks the world is his oyster. For the next 20 years, the two friends reunite on the 15th of each July, sharing dreams, tears and laughter — until they discover what they’ve been searching for, each other.

This movie, guys, took my breath away. I have never watched a movie with this kind of relationship and it was so aesthetically pleasing that this took place in Britain too. Emma is me completely as a person and the friendship she has with Dexter I can relate too, which is so amazing because I’ve never been able to before.

pg-13

Trailer

 

  • Begin Again

Gretta (Keira Knightley) and her songwriting partner/lover Dave (Adam Levine) head for New York when he lands a record deal with a major label. However, Gretta is suddenly left on her own when Dave gives in to the temptations that come with his newfound success. Things take a turn for the better for her when Dan (Mark Ruffalo), a disgraced record executive, discovers Gretta performing in a club. A mutually life-changing bond forms between the pair as they work together on Gretta’s first album.

This. Movie. For ANYONE who has a love of music you must watch this. Not only is the music in this movie so great but the life story and adventure of Dan is so heart wrenching. Kiera Knightley is one of my more favorite actresses and so is Mark Ruffalo. Also Hailee Steinfeld plays his daughter and Adam Levine is Dave ❤

R (So many f bombs and a smoked joint here and there but other than that it’s good)

Lost Stars – Kiera Knightley

Trailer

 

Music

Okay guys, here is my playlist + my top favorite songs 🙂

 

Honestly, everything about Oh Wonder I love and listen to their album OW on repeat. But this song is so catchy and groovy and I love it a lot a lot a lot.

 

This song makes me feel like Taylor Swift at Coachella dancing to Calvin Harris #rip

 

Fun story: there was a really great morning I had (very rare) and while I was drinking my tea with my little sister while not saying anything just listening to a morning acoustic playlist, this song came on and all of a sudden like a huge big bang explosion this morning became a really great moment. I wrote about it and now I’m so stoked for those quiet moments in my own apartment drinking tea and stares out the window.

Also a good friend of mine did a cover of this song, totally check it out!

Ophelia cover – Mark Demao

 

Masterpiece.

 

I heard this song on the radio one day on like the last day of June… and I almost wasn’t going to include it in here but guys its just so good and catchy! I basically listen to this song and my mood is taken up to cloud 9 and then I start dancing.

 

Well that is about it for my June favs. Please let me know if you like any of these things too! I’ll be doing this every month so mark your calendars… Here in the USA it is 4th of July weekend… this means good food, family + friends, and non stop red, white and blue. honestly you start thinking “am I going color blind where everything is red, white and blue?” Fun fact: It is my least favorite color combination. How patriotic of me I know. Also, yay for fireworks that last about a whole week till 4am…

My family and I are going to a rooftop on the beach to tailgate and watch the fireworks in my hometown Cocoa Beach, best view and so much fun! And then with friends even more fireworks in the village with symphony music. It’ll be a good weekend xo

Also, I made a photography page here on this blog! Either click here or at the top with my categories click My Photography and you can see what I do with a camera ha! Any other photographers out there??

Much Love, Yasmeen

 

 

Leave a Reply

