Sometimes there’s beauty in the tough words—it’s all in how you read them.

 

All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Published: January 5th, 2015

Genre: Young Adult

 

18460392

 

Summary:

Senior Theodore Finch, so called Finch, and Violet Markey unexpectedly meet at the top of a bell tower with solid feet but a heart that wants to jump. Both popular and well known, however not all as it seems. As both convince each other to climb back over the rail they are joined together for a senior project to visit the so called wonders of Indiana. This story brings you an in depth view into depression, abuse, and guilt as it guides the reader into a heartwarming and vivid story of two teenagers searching for answers and themselves again.

 

Why I Recommend:

I can see why this is one of the most popular books of 2016 as it gives those who also suffer from abuse and depression a hope and comfort. It does not sugarcoat the horrid experiences of clinging onto life. However, as someone who has only had a glimpse of depression this book did not carry me as it has so many others. Though, it was captivating to be taken under by the concept of this book.

 

Rate: 3 out of 5 stars

 

 

DISCUSSION

Though, this is not my absolute favorite book there are still many parts I loved! I took much fascination into Virginia Woolf and even researched her a bit, if you did not, I highly recommend to. She is a very interesting person with mysterious backgrounds and stories.

A concept in this book I loved was the wanderings project. It even encouraged me, a senior who wants to leave my town, to go out and explore the unusual places of Florida.

For those who are and were mildly interested into Germ Magazine, it is a real thing put together! As a journalists and hope to be editor of a magazine it was inspiring and such a pleasure to read.

Germ Magazine

I also had a lovely experience with this book… I checked this book out of the library and as I was almost done a note was left between the pages. It said, Be Lovely. I almost cried of this gesture. So I kept it and left a note also for the next person to find.

For those of you whom have enjoyed this book perhaps a million more times than I have please tell me your thoughts! I am curious to know how this book affected you!

One thought on “All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven | Words in Between The Lines

Leave a Reply

