Hello everyone!

I don’t know about you but I love me some favorites of the month. Whether it’s a YouTube video or a blog post, I love knowing what others have been loving and getting recommendations for everything between a beauty product or book. In the past I have done a few past favorites blog posts but I wanted to up my game a little bit… So welcome to my new series A Sense of The Month! At the end of every month I will post a blog post with my favorites of that previous month, as usual. But here’s the funky part, they will be categorized in the senses: sight, smell, touch, taste, and sound. As I am a lover of music, sound will include a playlist from the month consisting of all music I’ve been loving. I’m so excited to kick this off so let’s get started!

 

Sight

  • Bedroom Art Wall Gallery

You may have seen those really neat Tumblr and Instagram photos of a bedroom with art pictures taped on the wall. Yeah, that is my new hobby. Not only do you fill the wall with art, photographs, and letters that inspire and make you fuzzy warm inside but its a cheap, clean, and easy way to fill an empty wall! Mine is still a work in progress but here is what I have so far. The washi tape I use is the Scotch shiny copper one which I bought at Target for $1.99.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

P.S If you are interested for another What’s in My Room tour, comment below!

 

  • 13 Reasons Why – A Netflix Series – TV MA

I am a always looking for a new Netflix goodie and when 13 Reasons Why came out, there was so much buzz I had to check it out for myself! Shamefully, I have not read the book. Yeah yeah I know, I’m one of those people. But give me a break people! Personally, I loved this show. I was so surprised at how amazing the acting was! Every character I either loved or strongly disliked, that’s a good sign. I will not be giving any spoilers on this review for those who have not watched it yet, but here is a little overview.

We follow Hannah Baker, a high school Junior who has committed suicide and left tapes of 13 reasons why she did so. However, each of these tapes are directed towards a person and how they affected her decision.  I will also say it is very addicting to watch because it has a mystery/crime theme of it. The plot itself is very bothersome and don’t ignore the television rating of TV MA. I myself struggled to watch a few scenes and would feel so much emotion after the episode. The series has been very controversial to the extent of whether if you struggle with depression or suicidal thoughts, you should not watch. That decision is completely up to you, but most definitely do your research and a brain check before you start the series.

However, I must say, the graphic events that go on in this series happens everyday to hundreds, probably thousands, of people. This series brings such an awareness to the people who ignore the concepts because they themselves have been so fortunate. It bewilders me sometimes to think that television shows and movies have ratings because of graphic true material that you possibly will encounter one day. Whether it is death, suicide, rape, terrorism, ect.

 

  • Almost Adulting (All you need to know to get it together, sort of) by Arden Rose

Guys. This book. I cannot rave about it enough! For those that do not know, I have a book club called Words in Between The Lines where I write reviews and have discussions with my readers. So, of course I reviewed this book! I won’t get into too much detail but in the meanwhile you can read my review and discuss with me here.

Almost Adulting is a late teenage guidance book that educates and support you in entering into the big ol’ adulthood. As I am 18, this book was not only helpful but as I finished it I felt more confident, comforted, and motivated to take on this big world. I highly recommend to everyone from 17 to their 20s! Check your local bookstore or buy here!

 

Smell

  • Lush Soap Bar in Outback Mate

In my recent trip to Lush, I was given a free sample with my purchase and I was so excited because I had never used a soap bar before! There is many things about Outback Mate I love, but my favorite thing was the smell. Imagine, eucalyptus, peppermint, and lemongrass oil. YUM. I was also very surprised at how long the soap lasted me! I expected to get one use out of this 2 inch sample, but no no, 4 uses! So, yummy smelling, long lasting, AND I have never had skin SO soft from just a soap bar. But wait, there’s more! Outback Mate is bright blue and does not stain anything! How is that possible? I have no idea. Even my brand new white loofa was not even the slightest bit blue. All of this amazingness and Lush is of course fighting animal testing and %100 vegetarian.

Get yourself some.

 

Touch

  • Soap & Glory Sexy Motherpucker Matte Lipstick in Cinnamon Beige

This lipstick has become my go-to this month! It is a mauve brown, giving that ’90s make-up look. I plan to wear it for prom actually. It also smells so good, isn’t that the most amazing thing in make-up products? Although it is labeled to be matte, beware it is not the matte to where if you were to kiss your lover or eat a pizza, it wouldn’t budge.  This one is more of a creamy texture. Which I still absolutely love, but if you are seeking the matte texture that won’t budge, reconsider this line.

Buy here.

 

  • Silly Putty

You read that right. The classic silly putty. This is inspired by the book Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone. The main character uses it in therapy as thinking putty. As I have Trichotillomania (an OCD illness that tends to pull hair or occasionally channel into picking my face) my boyfriend and I thought it might help! It has helped a bit and it also is just so fun to play with again! If you have a tendency to do a bad habit with your hands, try it out! It just might help ❤ It’s only a dollar, so go try it!

 

  • Lush Massage Bar in Pearl

As I previously mentioned, I went on a Lush trip where I purchased a massage bar. Lush massage bars are basically lotion as a solid form but when heat up with the bodies natural body heat, it is all kinds of wonderful smelling moisturizing loving goodness. Pearl is a Rose Jam scented bar with the main ingredients of Argan and Rose oil. I love these bars for a few reasons, it lasts longer, leaves your body feeling so soft and moisturized, and smells amazing! Each bar can have a particular job, Pearl’s job is complete hydration.

Buy here.

 

 

Taste

Baking is a hobby of mine that has really excelled this past year. I have homemade so many different recipes, yet this one is my favorite: Snickerdoodles. If you are familiar with baking, you might know that cream of tartar is an ingredient typically used in this recipe. However! I have found and made a recipe that does not require cream of tartar and tastes just as amazing.

Ingredients

  • 2 3/4 cups of all purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F.
  2. Mix flour, baking powder, and salt together in medium sized bowl.
  3. Cream together the butter and 1 1/2 cups of sugar. Mix in eggs.
  4. Gradually add in flour mixture.
  5. Still together the cinnamon and other 2 tablespoons of sugar.
  6. Shape dough into 1 3/4 inch balls and roll in cinnamon sugar.
  7. Bake 12 – 15 minutes.

Sound

You’ll find in this playlist a cover of City of Stars by Gavin James, new releases from Oh Wonder and Harry Styles, Paramore’s greatest new hit Hard Times, a new music discovery of mine, Varsity, and more.

3 thoughts on “A Sense of The Month | APRIL

  1. This post is amazing! I liked how you posted stuffs for each sense. That was a nice touch. The one thing I loved is the playlist. I’m usually lazy to search good music and I just don’t want to listen to my music player’s recommendation. Keep posting!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

